News Politics

Record Breaking Turnout in Himachal Assembly Polls

Himachal Pradesh Assembly Polls have seen a record breaking voter turnout in the voting concluded today. Overall 74.6% turnout was recorded in 68 assembly constituency across the state, which was 1% more than the turnout in 2012 Elections.

Chief Electoral Officer Pushpendra Rajput told in a press release that the voting was concluded peacefully and no incidents of violence and objectionable act were reported from any part of the state. He also said that great enthusiasm was noticed among the youths and people in remote and tribal areas of the state.

However, some incidents of EVM or VVPAT Machine malfunctioning were reported which delayed the polling process in some polling stations.

Sirmaur district has recorded highest percentage with 82%  while Hamirpur has seen the lowest turnout with 69.5%. In other districts voting percentage recorded as  74% in Chamba, 72% in Kangra, 75% in Mandi, 77.9% in Kullu, 75% in Bilaspur, 73.4% in Lahaul Spiti, 75% Kinnaur, 72.5% in Shimla, 77.44% in Solan and 76% in Una. This voting percentage is the highest ever voting in the state.

CEO also expressed his gratitude towards people of the state for cooperation in peaceful conduct of elections and participation in Poll process.

A total of 7521 polling stations were established for these polls. Over 37,000 poll officials, 17,770 policemen, home-guards and 65 companies of the paramilitary were deployed for the peaceful conduct of polls in the state. Election Commission has also introduced live webcasts from 2,300 polling stations to ensure free and fair polling across the  12 districts.

For the first time in the state, the VVPAT machines were used to ensure the integrity of the EVM machines.

There are 337 candidates in the fray, including sitting Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and former CM Prem Kumar Dhumal and 62 sitting MLAs.

100 years old, India’s first voter Shyam Saran Negi casted his vote at Chinni polling booth in Kinnaur district. He was accompanied by his wife. He was welcomed and honoured by district administration and district electoral officers.

The EVM were kept in guarded strong rooms in different areas of the state till 18th December, the day when counting of votes will be done and result will be declared. The delay of 40 days is due to Gujarat assembly elections which will be concluded on 14th December.

Spread the love